Adobe Document Cloud

Navigation menu


But the consumer department supervisor of Abbott said to MCG that the artificial flavor in the Ensure Vanilla Shakes products is a mixture of natural and artificial Vanilla. MCG tried for weeks to get the ingredients of pizza crust, pizza sauce and cheese but company is refused to supply so MCG decided it to assign Mashbooh status. Wanted to provide the below information on Kirkland signature Fish oil supplements the correspondence that I received today "Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for emailing the Costco Mail Order Pharmacy. This article originally appeared on RealSimple. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

We keep making the best PDF solution better.


Thus, the VistA code base was split four ways. WorldVistA was formed from this group and was incorporated in March as a non-profit corporation.

This allowed the WorldVistA board of directors to pursue certain activities obtaining grants, creating contracts, and making formal alliances that they otherwise could not pursue as an informal organization. It is, however, an organization independent of the VA system and its version of VistA therefore differs from that of the VA's. Nevertheless, it maintains as an objective that its public version be compatible interoperable with the VA's official version.

Co-operation with the maintainers and vendors of OpenVistA , another widely deployed open source public version of VistA, helps maintain interoperability and a standardized framework. In summary, it was the joint collaboration of thousands of clinicians and systems experts from the United States and other nations, many of them volunteers, that the VistA system has developed.

There have been many champions of VistA as the electronic healthcare record system for a universal healthcare plan. VistA can act as a standalone system, allowing self-contained management and retention of healthcare data within an institution. Combined with BHIE or other data exchange protocol it can be part of a peer-to-peer model of universal healthcare.

It is also scalable to be used as a centralized system allowing regional or even national centralization of healthcare records. It is, therefore, the electronic records system most adaptable to a variety of healthcare models.

In addition to the unwavering support of congressional representatives such as Congressman Sonny Montgomery of Mississippi, numerous IT specialists, physicians, and other healthcare professionals have donated significant amounts of time in adapting the VistA system for use in non-governmental healthcare settings. In November , the U. Enzi of Wyoming with 38 co-sponsors, that would require the government to use the VA's technology standards as a basis for national standards allowing all health care providers to communicate with each other as part of a nationwide health information exchange.

Two similar House bills were introduced in late and early ; no action has been taken on either of them, either. In April , Sen. Rockefeller of West Virginia introduced the Health Information Technology Public Utility Act of calling for the government to create an open source electronic health records solution and offer it at little or no cost to safety-net hospitals and small rural providers.

An effort has been made by the Astronaut team, WorldVistA team, members of the VistA Software Alliance, and the OSEHRA to standardize structure between the platform derivatives to allow for future interoperability, as part of the vision for a national healthcare network record system.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. This article is about the nationwide health information system developed by the US Department of Veterans Affairs. Blood Bank Workarounds Laboratory: Consolidated Mail Outpatient Pharmacy Pharm: Retrieved 27 August Health Econ Policy Law.

Kennedy School of Government. Archived from the original PDF on January 14, Retrieved January 22, How Veterans Affairs transformed itself — and what it means for the rest of us". United States Department of Veterans Affairs Archived from the original on July 26, Retrieved July 13, Archived from the original on 20 January General Surgery News Vol. US Department of Veterans Affairs.

ElectronicHealthcare, 7 2 Archived from the original on February 19, CrossOver Health Jan Virtual Medical Worlds August Version 2 August Perot Systems Sep Computerizing Large Integrated Health Networks: OpenHealth News Jan Archived from the original on September 26, Retrieved June 10, According to Ummah Labs they do not consult with any experienced Muslim food scientist nor Islamic Scholars.

Islamic Sharia Rules for dietary requirements are same for centuries for Muslims and anywhere in the world. Since all persons who runs Scan Halal are computer engineers with zero knowledge of food science and Islamic Sharia rules. They consult with food companies who has no idea about Halal status of food ingredients or food products.

Scan Halal does not consider Hidden Ingredient in the food products or in the Ingredients as their criteria for permissible. This makes food products Haram if food companies used pork or pork by product as processing or hidden ingredient and they never told anybody about they use as hidden ingredient. There is one example: Apple juice where some companies used pork gelatin during the processing of apple juice to filter very small pieces of apple pulp, if those small pieces of apple pulp are not pickup then apple juice will be not clear.

This pork gelatin will not appear under the ingredient statement due to FDA Food Law by not mentioning any ingredient which help during processing of food or ingredient it is called processing aid or hidden ingredient. They provide Zabiha or non Zabiha status to non food products as it mentioned in their definitions: Ingredients derived from animal and alcohol will be considered not permissible. Choose your dietary setting. If you want to customize your diet select custom and choose all the ingredients that you wish to avoid.

As we understand that there is no need for a Muslim to follow the Islamic Sharia rules for their diet because many of them do not know sharia rules for food and beverage. This is will be a personal diet and it has no name as Halal only permissible.

Muslim Ummah do not want this high tech to corrupt their Islamic diet. Muslims around the world required to follow Halal diet only but Scan Halal encouraging Muslims to avoid Islamic Sharia on foods and beverages. In Islamic Sharia the word Zabiha is used for meat only not for any non meat ingredient such as alcohol. The term used in Islamic Sharia for alcohol is Haram because it is an intoxicant. All intoxicants are Haram in Islam. They do consider non zabiha beef, chicken, goat and turkey as Halal.

There is no emphases on hand slaughtered zabiha meat. Use of word Halal: On Scan Halal the word Halal is described at description. This application was created for the purpose of helping Ummah to consume Halal. Scan Halal will display the ingredients with its Halal status after you scan the barcode.

In addition, if the product is Haram or Mashbooh The colored circles indicate the Halal status according to your dietary settings, and not according to other users dietary setting. It indicates there will be millions of different dietary setting based on individual preferences NOT based on Islamic Sharia dietary requirements.

Islamic Sharia rules do not allow individual preferences in consuming Halal foods. There is a conflicting claims here, green circle never mentioned as Halal but mentioned as permissible, the question is on whose authority.

So everything mentioned without Halal criteria. If a Muslim called and ask the reason why this product is permissible the whole staff of Ummah Labs cannot answers because they are not food scientists nor they are Islamic scholars. Your field is computer engineering not food science or religious dietary field. Please spend all your energy on computer engineering on software or hardware but not on educating Muslims for Halal foods.

This is a big responsibility and it requires right qualifications, which your group do not have it. MCG respects your talents in computer engineering and request Ummah labs not to educate Muslims about Halal foods because you have no qualification to do so.

It has proof at Cold Stone website under ingredients statement. Not only the Natural and Artificial Flavor are made with alcohol but Peppermint is also made with alcohol. Beside there is no information on the use of alcohol during processing of Carrageenan and Pectin.

Your Nutritionist does not have information about how Carrageenan is manufactured, only their supplier knows and your company has the right to ask the question to your supplier about use of alcohol during carrageenan processing. She just looked the ingredients list which did not tell the hidden alcohol in flavors or use of alcohol in processing.

Then how come she said no alcohol in your ice cream. You are giving wrong information to consumer. Your statement is wrong. You did not forward my e-mail to technical people, you just answered by yourself to avoid investigation.

Your nutritionist even do not bother to read the ingredient of French Toast Ice Cream. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent". Alcohol sometimes is used during the processing of Carrageenan and Pectin.

I would like your technical people to respond to my questions. Thank you for contacting Cold Stone. I have confirmed with our nutritionist that our ice cream does not contain alcohol of any kind.

Please let me know if you have any other questions. Hi, Every Cold Stone ice cream flavor contains an ingredient called Carrageean which is a sea weed gum. Wanted to provide the below information on Kirkland signature Fish oil supplements the correspondence that I received today "Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for emailing the Costco Mail Order Pharmacy.

We have multiple Kirkland Signature Fish Oil products available, and this information could vary by item. For the following items, the gelatin is of porcine source. The common ingredient in all above is gelatin and mostly pork gelatin is used. Some times marshmallow containing pork gelatin is also used. Please click here to view lab results on the following soft drinks:.

Once again Scan Halal is promoting and assigning Halal status to food products made with alcohol containing flavors. All fruits flavored yogurts are made with natural and artificial flavor.

Here is one of Muslim consumer got response from Stoneyfield Yogurt Company:. Alcohol is used in flavor according to the company's e-mail. A sister has provided this e-mail in Thanks for reaching out to us about whether there is alcohol in our YoToddler yogurt and our YoKids Squeezers. The natural flavorings in our yogurt s can contain trace amounts of alcohol, and it's also true that small amounts of alcohol are used the the culture fermentation process; so it is possible that minute quantities of alcohol can be present in our yogurt s.

For this reason, we can't certify them as halal. Thanks again for getting in touch. If you ever have another question please give us a shout. Sincerely, The Folks at Stonyfiel,. MCG has spend money to send Fanta Orange Soda to a outside independent lab to find out alcohol content.

Here what they reported 71 PMM or 0. Sampl e l dentiftcatlon: Sample Rec e i ved: Only Pepsi showed no alcohol in it. MCG is a not for profit organization but still spend money to find out which soft drink contains alcohol because MCG believes in this Hadith:. The founder of the Cedar Rapids company, at 60th Ave. After a trial last week, the jury acquitted him Monday of four charges of money laundering but convicted him on other charges including conspiracy and wire fraud.

He could face years in prison when sentenced. Aossey, who was free during his trial, was taken into custody by U. Marshals after the government asked for him to remain in jail pending his sentencing. He appeared in leg chains for the detention hearing.

During that hearing, U. Cedar Rapids Police Det. John Matias, who is working the gun smuggling investigation, testified Aossey and Ali Al Herz were good friends and that Al Herz had worked at Midamar for several years in the past. He said Aossey called the freight company, upset, when he learned the container was being searched by authorities.

Matias then identified a photo from a surveillance video that showed Aossey looking in the container that was at Midamar in May. He also walked inside of it. He said Aossey had worldwide connections and could leave the country. Murphy added that Aossey admitted during the beef export trial to breaking the law by telling employees to remove required USDA labels and directing others to falsify export documents.

Reade, however, said Aossey will remain in jail until she makes a ruling on whether to release him pending sentencing, which could be, at least, a few months away. Aossey was found guilty of 15 counts — one count of conspiracy to make false statements, sell misbranded meat and commit mail and wire fraud; seven counts of making or causing false statements to be made on export applications; and seven counts of wire fraud.

He was acquitted of four counts of money laundering. Aossey is the founder of the Midamar Corp. After the verdict, U. District Judge Linda Reade ordered Aossey held in federal custody. Prosecutors say Aossey oversaw a scheme in which Midamar employees lied about the origin of their products so they could export them to Malaysia and Indonesia from to Both countries restrict imports to slaughterhouses that are certified as meeting their standards for halal, or slaughter practices based on Islamic law.

Testifying in his own defense during the weeklong trial, Aossey admitted that he told employees to change the establishment numbers and that the company falsified export documents. He said Aossey admitted making misrepresentations but argued they were immaterial because the customers were satisfied with the products they received. Faraj said the violations were addressed by the U.

Department of Agriculture, which sanctioned Midamar after discovering them in , and should not have later been charged as crimes. A USDA inspector testified that such labeling violations were serious and could result in countries blocking all beef imports from the U. Aossey had been in contact with the suspects, one of whom is a close friend, and is shown on surveillance video briefly going into one of the containers after it was packed, prosecutors argued.

The case concerns the financial empire of the Aossey family of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. To summarize briefly, last year the government indicted brothers Jalel and Yahya Aossey, along with two companies they operate, Midamar Corporation Midamar and Islamic Services of America, Inc. Midamar distributes supposedly halal meat, which is to say, meat slaughtered according to Islamic law. Islamic Services of America, Inc. ISA , certifies meat and other products as halal. Jalel, Yahya, and their father William Bill Aossey serve as corporate directors.

Yahya is president of ISA. Bill is president of Midamar. Some of the claimed misconduct involved falsifying paperwork to make it appear as though the meat were slaughtered at a warehouse whose meat was halal, whereas in fact it was slaughtered at another warehouse whose meat was not halal.

Other claims are even more obviously religious. Bill Aossey was separately indicted two months before the others. The charges against him are more straightforward and less encumbered with religious claims. In the case, Barghout v. Rubin is a case in which a federal court struck down New York State laws aimed at protecting consumers from fraudulent claims that food is kosher.

In the case Wallace v. The American Civil Liberties Union has previously opposed government involvement in identifying religiously-acceptable food. Besides representing George Barghout in the case noted above, it filed a lawsuit in challenging the constitutionality of a Georgia law, the Kosher Food Labeling Act. Despite its track record on the issue, the ACLU did not respond to inquiry about whether it had any Establishment Clause concerns over prosecuting someone for halal meat violations.

The government has not yet responded to the motion. The trial concluded July 13 with a verdict of guilty on 15 of the 19 charges against him.

Jalel and Yahya Aossey are scheduled to begin trial on September MCG has just completed research at Starbucks and published it under Chain Restaurants because many Muslim consumers are demanding to evaluate their products. Some bakery products are made with Ham, Pork and Wine at all Starbucks store.

Although there are very few Halal bakery products are available at Starbucks but there is a chance that they may be cross contaminated with Ham, Pork and wine so we request Muslim consumers to avoid eating any bakery products at Starbucks stores. McDonald gave case number to deny the rumor. McDonald said the this rumor was started at www. MCG do not recommend any bakery who uses gelatin. Alcohol is a intoxicant and Haram.

Alcohol is also use in many natural and artificial flavor, the Scan Halal has given Halal status to many food products which are made with alcohol containing flavor. So there is cross contamination with Bacon. He knows that the Kraft Salad Dressing are not Halal because they do not use Kosher certified ingredients and pork bacon is also used in Kraft Salad Dressing.

Halal status was given to Cheetos Nacho Cheese. Again Cheetos are not under Halal or Kosher certification. No consideration was given to processing aid or Hidden ingredients used in many products listed as Halal. All the Blue Bell ice cream are recalled by the company due to Listeria contamination. Three consumer are dead by consuming Blue Bell ice cream. Please stay away from it. To all Muslims Softjel means it is made with either pork gelatin or very rare non zabiha beef gelation so Muslims should always avoid Softjel products.

So all Gerber Organic 2nd Food baby food products even apples are made with pork gelatin and all of them are Haram. Nestle also informed through file number that all baby food products with out Kosher symbol are made on same line where pork gelatin containing products are made so there is great possibility of cross conatmination of those products with pork gelatin. The natural flavorings in our yogurts can contain trace amounts of alcohol, and it's also true that small amounts of alcohol are used the the culture fermentation process; so it is possible that minute quantities of alcohol can be present in our yogurts.

Sincerely, The Folks at Stonyfield. Thank you for visiting http: I wanted to get back to you about your ingredient questions. I apologize but unfortunately this ingredient information is not currently available. As you can imagine our products change frequently, and maintaining a list of products for specific dietary practices would be virtually impossible. The suppliers from which we obtain the natural flavoring will not reveal the exact ingredients to us, as they consider it to be proprietary.

They only have to reveal if their natural flavoring contains major allergens. The exact source of the gelatin used in our products cannot be easily determined because the hide used in our products can be from both beef and pork. When alcohol is used in our products in a significant amount or has a technical effect it will be labeled on the ingredient line. However, if alcohol is present in a minute amount it will not be listed. I appreciate you contacting us.

MCG admin was for few days due to some technical issues. This is the reason questions were not answered. Similarly the new products, News, Alert were also not working. We apologized for this inconvenience. There are over questions to be answer so please be patient. I contacted timhortons customer care department by email and here is what they said: Thank you for taking the time to contact Tim Hortons Head Office with your inquiry.

Your request was for information regarding the use of ethyl alcohol as a flavour carrier in our products. Many of our baked goods contain added flavours, which may contain trace amounts of ethyl alcohol.

Please note that any alcohol in baked products will evaporate during the baking process. Please note however that ethyl alcohol may be an ingredient in the flavourings for all donut fillings. The alcohol content in the finished product would be trace. Please note that if natural or artificial flavour is listed, then the product may contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier. We have confirmed that our Iced Capps contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier for the flavors.

We have also confirmed that the flavors used in our donuts without fillings do not contain alcohol. Adel Aleksandrov has provided the following information on Nature Smart Vitamins. MCG would like to appreciate this inforamtion:. Assalyamu aleikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh!

Here is a brand new information on gelatin in Nature Smart vitamins. Just got a response from the manufacturer. Disney Frozen Gummies Product No. If you have any further questions, our Consumer Affairs Representatives can be reached toll-free at , Monday through Saturday, 9am-7pm EST. We look forward to serving you in the future. Kindest regards, Chris Customer Care Department http: Mondelez Company has informed MCG that they do not track the flavor used in Halls cough drops for use of alcohol in them.

They can not answer that Halls cough drops are free of any animal derived ingredients and alcohol in flavor Reference number dated December 23, Salam Alaykum, this isn't a question it's actually advice for subway lovers I saw someone ask about cross contamination in the veggies, I see the workers they ONLY change the gloves when it's a new person ordering, they still touch the pork and chicken then go straight to the veggies, so yes the veggies are contaminated by haram meat Subway always has new freshly cut veggies in the fridge, they don't always have all the veggies but they have tons, well to avoid eating contaminated veggies ask the worker to use the veggies in the fridge, they're fresh and not contaminated!

I hope you post this for everyone to see. Jazzak Allah Kheir for this website. Thanks for contacting Pantene, Rasheed. We appreciate your interest in Pantene. Pantene products may or may not contain animal by-products, depending on what ingredient source was available at the time of manufacture.

The ingredients may be derived from a variety of vegetable sources, such as coconut or palm kernel oil, or animal sources, typically beef or pork, hides or bones. Yes some ingredients used in Beauty Care products are listed as alcohols. These ingredients are completely different to the alcohols found in alcoholic drinks; they are not specified as alcohols and in fact they are usually solids i.

They are derived from renewable plant sources and are used as preservatives which keep the product pure and free from contamination.

Hope this is helpful. The following Tums products are mashbooh because Tums company has no information about presence or absence of alcohol in artificial flavors Refernce number All softgel products are made with gelatin. Most of the time the gelatin used in softgel is from pork because it is cheap gelatin in USA. It is not a Halal product due to presence of Carmine red color which is obtained from insect.

All insect except locust are Haram. This information was provided by sister: I would like to bring this to your attention that Revlon has recently launched a new lipstick line called "Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick" which has I think 10 or 12 shades.

Recently I bought two of its shades named "Rose" and "Primerose". A sister has provided this information in which the company is giving wrong information that their Veet Hair Removing cream products are free of animal derived ingredients but they are not giving the source of Stearyl Alcohol which is a fat based ingredient. If they claim no animal derived ingredients used then Stearyl Alcohol should be from vegetable fat and they can not write no information on it.

The following we-mail wrote our sister:. For more information regarding ingredients, please visit our website at www. We appreciate your interest in our products and we thank you for the opportunity to answer your questions. All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients.

The company told MCG that gelatin in the patch is made from pig skin so it is a Haram patch. Mozarrella and other cheeses at Whole Foood Market supermarkets under brand without kosher symbol are not Halal.

Dear Brothers, Assalam Alaikum WRB, I called and was confirmed today by the respective consumer contact departments that their products are NOT halal since they contain ingredients sourced from beef or pork.

MCG tried for weeks to get the ingredients of pizza crust, pizza sauce and cheese but company is refused to supply so MCG decided it to assign Mashbooh status. According to a Hadith we should stay away consuming any mashbooh foods and food ingredients.

Mar 25, Type: The answer to the first question is yes, for it is a CNS depressant like ethyl alcohol, albeit with the differences of being synthetic which would make a difference only in the hanafi madhhab , and being very toxic.

Avoiding it when there is no need is an act of cautious piety. Muslims, when capable, should work on finding alternatives to it. N Engl J Med ; A year-old man with alcoholism was admitted to the hospital with chest pain, for which the workup was unremarkable. At discharge, the patient became acutely hypotensive and delirious.

He was afebrile, oxygenating well, and had a nonfocal neurologic examination. Intravenous fluids and vasopressors were administered. The results of routine laboratory tests were normal, as were the results of arterial blood gas and serum ethanol measurements, toxicology screening, blood and urine cultures, and computed tomography of the head. Urinalysis showed a trace of acetone.

The following day, the patient was hemodynamically stable, but his mental status did not improve. Because of a sweet, ketotic odor in the room, tests of serum isopropyl alcohol isopropanol and acetone levels were ordered. Before those results were obtained, the patient was seen in the bathroom drinking the alcohol-based hand wash from its dispenser.

The patient's isopropanol level was Ingestion of approximately ml of isopropanol can be lethal owing to depression of both the central nervous system and myocardial function. Ingestion of methanol, ingestion of ethylene glycol, and ingestion of isopropanol all lead to an elevated plasma osmolal gap. However, isopropanol does not cause metabolic acidosis with an elevated anion gap. Secondary alcohols, such as isopropanol, oxidize to ketones, such as acetone, which under physiologic conditions cannot be further oxidized to acid.

Isopropanol-containing hand sanitizers are ubiquitous. Physicians should be aware of the potential for isopropanol intoxication, especially among alcoholics, in the hospital setting. Perhaps changing the description on the container from isopropyl alcohol to isopropanol or propaneol would decrease the attraction of these hand sanitizers for potentially dangerous abuse.

University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH emadia email. Thank you for contacting Little Caesars October 07, Dear Shifa Our mozzarella cheese, pizza sauce, and dough do not contain any animal by products or alcohol. The four cheese blend used on the Soft Pretzel Crust pizza does contain animal rennet.

If you have any additional questions please contact us at When you have non Halal cheeses in the store so there is great chance of cross contamination of non Halal cheese with mashbooh pizza cheese. Most food dyes and flavorings have an alcohol base. However, as candy is cooked at high temperatures, any alcohol present is "flashed out", and therefore not present in the finished products.

There are no animal products or by-products in our products. So according to this canwe eat toostie roll candy. But it does not satisfy the Muslim community. It is not the fault of SPAR. SPAR is a pork-seller. There is no secret conundrum in this fact. S A website www. Dum Dum Pops Website Contact. We do not add any alcohol to our Dum Dums. Some of the flavors are processed with alcohol but do not contain alcohol when made into a sucker.

These flavor include blueberry, blu raspberry, cotton candy, and mango. Tue, 29 Jul Thank you for your interest in Nature's Bounty! The source of gelatin in the Fish Oil mg Prod No. This product is free of pork. Krispy Kreme do not have ingredients statements on their website and they refused to provide to MCG by e-mail.

Due to the fact that written information can be manipulated, we have chosen not to email out information regarding these specific ingredients. Because of the sensitivity of these questions, we would like to verbally communicate with each of our customers that are interested in finding out more information.

With this, we also reduce the risk of modified versions of our information becoming available on social media websites. I have your answers finally, They came to me in two parts. Here they are as follows: They are not free of animal by products. GlaxoSmithKline the maker of Sensydyne toothpaste has informed MCG that all Sensodyne toothpastes are made with alcohol containing flavors with reference number dated July 2, Recently many toothpaste companies is started to use Carrageenan in some of their toothpaste.

Carrageenan is a mashbuh ingredient and it is Halal only if Potassium Chloride is used to crystallized the Carrageen but if they use ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol then Carrageenan will not be Halal.

Most toothpaste companies do not have this information they have to get it from their Carrageenan suppliers and it will takes times. MCG advises Muslims to avoid toothpaste containing Carrageenan unless the toothpaste companies informed that alcohol or isopropyl alcohol was not used during processing of Carrageenan. MCG has reconfirmed with Dairy Queen with reference number dated June 11, that they do not use kosher certified ingredients.

Each franchise buy their own raw material from different suppliers. The products, including Dairy Queen soft serve, sold in Dairy Queen restaurants come from a variety vendors. As you may already know, most Dairy Queen restaurants are independently owned and operated franchises.

IDQ recommends that you contact the Dairy Queen restaurants you frequently patronize and inquire whether their facility has been certified Kosher or if their products are Kosher certified. Thank you again for contacting Dairy Queen. We appreciate your interest in our products, and I hope this information is helpful to you.

This is a Indian product. AppFiz is a carbonated apple juice product manufactured by Parle Agro. These are ingredients of AppFiz in India:. If no pork or beef gelatin was used during processing of reconstitute apple juice and no Haram hidden ingredients are used and if it has a green dot on the package then it can be consider as Halal.

Muslim retail and consumer groups in Malaysia on Thursday called for a boycott of products made by Britain-based confectioner Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc, after two chocolate varieties were found to have infringed Islamic rules by containing pork DNA. Cadbury Malaysia on Monday recalled the Dairy Milk chocolates after the finding by Malaysian authorities in a random test.

I want you to please test in your labs and tell if Cadbury here in Pakistan is halal or haram. Lactose is made from whey, whey is a by-product of cheese making. Whey from which the lactose obtained has to be sweet whey not acid whey where rennet enzyme is not used. Milk is curd by adding rennet enzyme to milk. Rennet enzyme can be made from pork or beef or microbial source.

Some times Lipase fat breaking enzyme is also added to milk. Again Lipase enzyme can be obttained from pork or beef or microbial source. It is possible that the lactose is obtained from a dairy plant where cheese is made with pork rennet, pork lipase and also microbial rennet and microbial lipase.

Probably the line was not properly cleaned so cross contamination happened or finished microbial enzyme used whey may be contaminated with pork rennet whey. Same above sitauation may have happened. Halal certification is not easy, you have to consider every possiblity, some Halal certifying organizations do not pay attention to details and possiblity of cross contamination.

You have to be trained or have experience in working in cheese plants and other food plants. Similarly have very good Total Quality Management of cheese plant or other food plant. Majority of Cadbury products in USA and Canada are kosher certified and no pig derived ingredients are used. If Cadbury do not use alcohol as a solvent or carrier in the flavors then they are Halal. But if alcohol is used as solvent or carrier in the flavors then all Cadbury products are considered as Not Halal.

Beside flavor all other ingredients are Halal because it is under Orthodox Kosher certification which meets Halal requirements. No pig by product are used in US or Canadian made Cadbury products because they are kosher certified by orthodox Kosher organization. Mondelez A old Nabisco Snack company is not telling Muslim consumers in USA and Canada whether their products are made with alcohol containing flavors or not while other food companies provide information about presence or absence of alcohol in flavors.

This news was brought to us by Br. Hasan Raza a Muslim consumer before the following news was published on www. The scandal over the ingredient banned under Islamic dietary laws has sparked outrage among some Muslim groups in Malaysia, who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc.

Concerns over halal food standards could jeopardize Mondelez's sales in Muslim markets that are larger than Malaysia, such as Indonesia, home to the world's largest Muslim population, and the Middle East.

Sparingga said the tests would be done on the 10 varieties of Cadbury products that are certified in Indonesia as halal - or permissible according to Islamic law. Those products did not include the two types of Dairy Milk chocolate that Cadbury Malaysia recalled this week after finding pork traces. Malaysian Islamic authorities tried to cool anger against Cadbury by saying it remained unclear if the contamination was the company's fault. They have not been found guilty so this is just a suspension," he added.

JAKIM, which is responsible for awarding halal certification in Malaysia, is conducting further tests on the suspect Cadbury products to confirm the initial findings by the health ministry. Cadbury Malaysia said in a statement that it had withdrawn the two products as a precaution and that it had no reason to believe there was pork-related content in its other foods. Products in Muslim nations are regularly checked to ensure they are halal. Besides pork, items considered non-halal by Muslims include alcohol and the meat of animals and birds that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites.

Non-halal food scandals have erupted in Southeast Asia before. The then Indonesian president stepped in to try to defuse the row which had hit the company's share price. Ajinomoto's local company subsequently publicly apologized and withdrew some products from the Indonesian market.

On Thursday, a Malaysian Muslim retail group said it would ask the stores it represents to stop selling all products made by Cadbury, Mondelez and U.

Together with a Muslim consumer group, it called on Malaysians to boycott all those companies' products. Its brands include Oreo cookies and Ritz crackers. Malaysia's National Fatwa Council, which issues official guidance on Islamic issues, said on Friday it supported the withholding of halal status on the two Cadbury products but that the company should not be punished unless the breach was proven to be intentional.

Islam is not a rigid religion. Isopropyl Alcohol is not used in the processed food products but used in very few ingredients during its processing for crystallization.

Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol help in attracting water molecule from food ingredients during its processing. Then Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol is completely taken out from the ingredients. MCG received a question from a Washington D. C doctor and a professor from Istanbul Turkey providing medical research from text book and medical literature that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication. MCG checked couple of medical literature to find out that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication among people.

All the information about Isopropyl alcohol has been corrected on MCG 's www. Ingredients of Tuna Salad obtained from the tuna salad box from Dunkin Donut stores by two brothers:. Please ask for ingredients and specially wine when you order Tuna Sandwich at any restaurant or any fast food chain.

MCG is thankful to Br. Hasan Raza and his friend for providing above information which benefit to Muslims. MCG has tried to get the technical answers from Little Caesar Pizza regarding the Mozzarella cheese and they said to us and Muslims consumers that their cheese pizza is not Halal or Kosher certified. Assalamu Alaikum, Pizza Hut recently changed their cheese blend.

Do you know if it is still halal Also, they use Romano and other cheeses in their new "hand tossed" pizza as well as the "cheese lovers," "stuffed crust" and "cheese lover's" lines.

I do not believe that their Romano or parmesan has been inspected, can you please note this for others Jazakallah Khairn for all of your efforts. May Allah make it easy for you. MCG went to a local Pizza Hut store and asked a store manager about cheese pizzas, as well as any additional sprays used on top of them.

He gave the following responses: Personal pan pizza crust is made in pan and they use only vegetable oil to lubricate it. All screens are sprayed with a food released spray named Gold N Sweet. This is made by Ventura Foods.

He showed me the can and its ingredients: He mentioned also using Garlic Seasoning on hand tossed crust but did not give its ingredients. He said all the vegetables used are fresh vegetables. He said that only Mozzarella cheese is applied on all crust.

Additional Parmesan, Romano cheese and Alfredo Sauce are applied to only cheese lover's pizza. MCG then asked the Pizza Hut customer service department to provide the ingredient statements of the following: Anything spray or applied on personal pan pizza.

If you have a question on a specific ingredient for a specific dietary concern, we will be glad to help you with that question". It is possible for them to change their mind and provide ingredient statements.

Until then, their cheese pizza is musbooh. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them. Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal.

Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins".

Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil for Omega fish oil under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil Omega fish oil and where to buy them. There is no kosher symbol on the package of Cheetos and Doritos.

This makes them Non Halal because they can add any Haram Hidden or Processing aid ingredients without mentioning under the ingredients statement. Cheese used in Cheetos and Doritos are not Kosher certified and not Halal. Sine these products are not under Halal or Kosher certification then Frito Lay can use non kosher certified flavors or colors.

There is no restriction for Frito Lay to make Cheetos or Doritos on their own lines or on co-packers line where pork containing products are made. This exposes a great possibility of cross contamination of pork containing ingredients. All these snacks are very attractive to adults and children but there is a Hadith which says that Allah will not accept your dua for 40 days if a Muslim eats intentionally a bit of Haram food. So MCG recommend Muslims not consume above snacks.

Lauren A dated March 05, The following article was from: In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful haram , both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure najis.

This type of alcohol is known as Khamr wine , and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars. Allah Most High says: However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling.

They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira Allah be pleased with him stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: However, the other three schools of thought, i. Sunan Abu Dawud, No.

Thus, according to these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful haram and impure najis. Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage. Imam al-Haskafi Allah have mercy on him states: Imam Ibn Abidin Allah have mercy on him explains the above: The hanafi scholars have stated that the.

Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna…. The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful haram and impure najis , even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful haram.

Based on above article the Hanafi ulema from England, South Africa and some in USA says any alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley is consider "Synthetic Alcohol" and can be consumed by Muslims. Technically this is a complete wrong definition because if alcohol obtained from corn then it is consider as synthetic alcohol according above ulema.

But the process to obtain alcohol from corn is all natural and it is not synthetic. The alcohol obtained from corn is a result of yeast fermentation of corn.

Where corn starch is breakdown to simple sugar then enzyme Zymase from yeast cells breaks the sugar to alcohol and carbon dioxide and it is all natural process. There are two kind of ethanol or alcohol, one called chemical Ethanol and Other is Bio Ethanol. The alcohol obtained from chemical ethanol process called synthetic alcohol in USA where ethanol or alcohol is obtained hydration of ethylene gas and Bio ethanol is obtained from fermentation of sugar by yeast.

The source of sugar are many such from fruits grape, dates or nay fruits or from grain such as corn, wheat. You cannot called source other than grape or date as or barley synthetic because if ethanol obtained from corn then corn is not a synthetic source it is a natural source. Hajrat Imam Abu Hanifia RA's main intension was to get energy to do Ibadah because there are not many energy providing food products are available at that time.

Many ulema miss the ibadah point. Now a days there are Halal foods are available to provide source of energy to do Ibadah. Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but. The following information are obtained from internet regarding synthetic alcohol: Gasification produces a synthesis gas , sometimes called syngas from synthesis gas , which, after cleaned, consists mostly of molecular hydrogen and carbon monoxide.

The syngas is then passed over a catalyst, in a controlled environment, creating synthetic molecules, like the ethanol molecule pictured above left. The actual type of molecule depends on the catalyst used in the process.

Synthetic ethanol is chemically identical to bio-ethanol, the only difference is that bio-ethanol is made from the fermentation of carbohydrate derived sugars, followed by distillation, identical to the process used for making alcoholic beverages such as vodka or whisky; whereas synthetic alcohol is produced through a thermo-chemical process which begins with the creation of syngas from the gasification of a wide range of resources, and therefore not limited to grains and sugars.

Questions about the suitability of synthetic alcohol for use in manufacturing vinegar arose as early as l By Administration Information Letter No. Pharmacopeia, one of the official drug compendiums under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; consequently, ethyl alcohol intended for drug use must comply with the standards and tests laid down in the Pharmacopeia.

Since the Pharmacopeia does not place any restrictions as to the method of manufacturing ethyl alcohol, synthetic alcohol which complies with the standards and tests set forth in the official monograph may legally be distributed for drug use.

This position, however, has not been the subject of any court review. Questions have been raised as to whether we can or should continue to consider synthetic alcohol unsuitable for food use. Their reply included the following paragraphs: It is our opinion that most of the distilled spirits used in the production of vinegar are derived from natural gas and petroleum. When such alcohol is used in the production of vinegar, we would consider any reference to 'grain alcohol' or 'neutral grain spirits' would be misleading for the alcohol and also the name 'grain vinegar' would be misleading, except for connoting strength, e.

Incidentally, I might add that most of the alcohol used in the production of medicinal preparations and flavors is synthetic. Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as "grain alcohol" or "neutral grain spirits" is considered false and misleading. They even never used word getting. There is no claim on their website that they do not use animal derived ingredients and alcohol.

But in Europe and Australia following termeinology is used for flavors:. Flavoring substances obtained from plant or animal raw materials, by physical, microbiological or enzymatic processes.

They can be either used in their natural state or processed for human consumption, but cannot contain any nature-identical or artificial flavoring substances. They are only Halal if they obtained from Halal sources and alcohol was not used as a solvent. Flavoring substances that are obtained by synthesis or isolated through chemical processes, which are chemically and organoleptically identical to flavoring substances naturally present in products intended for human consumption.

They cannot contain any artificial flavoring substances. Flavoring substances not identified in a natural product intended for human consumption, whether or not the product is processed.

These are typically produced by fractional distillation and additional chemical manipulation of naturally sourced chemicals, crude oil or coal tar. Although they are chemically different, in sensory characteristics are the same as natural ones.

They are only Halal if no alcohol is used as a solvent in the flavor. Amal from England has sent the following e-mail to inform our brothers and sisters in UK. Lansoprazole30 inhibits the production of gastric acid in stomach. Thank you for confirming this information. This is a product licensed by another company called Krka.

I have contacted Krka and they have confirmed the gelatine is sourced from a mixture of bovine and porcine. I have the following information for you sent to me by Nivea in regards to animal derived ingredients. Hydrolyzed Pearl - derived from Pearl protein fresh water pearls. We do not use any egg based ingredients in our products.

As formulations do change from time to time, we would recommend that you check the ingredients listing on the product that you wish to use for the ingredients listed above, prior to use. Please avoid all those Nivea products if they are made from above ingredients. Wal-Mart buy food and non food products from many differ rent suppliers throughout the country. They do not specify the source of ingredients so the same Great Value food product without Kosher symbol on the package although all ingredients look Halal and Equate non food products are made with ingredients having different sources like some from animal source and other with plant source.

So there is no guarantee that they are Halal. Only those Great Value food product with kosher symbol if they meet Halal requirements are Halal. All Equate personal care products and on the counter medicine are not Halal for Muslims. Poultry slaughterhouses that employ a mechanical fixed blade mechanised killing to slaughter birds would no longer be accredited by the HFA for halal status with effect from 3RD MARCH ".

US and Canadian Halal meat certification organizations should follow the same so that US and Canadian Muslims consumers will not have to be worry about the Halal status of chicken. MCG thinks this is due to a declaration by 40 British Islamic Scholars who declared in that machine slaughtering of chicken is not consider as Zabiha. Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green color on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

All state food authorities in India have been instructed to take necessary action to ensure compliance of above wwe. Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely: Every package of Non-Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in red colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

If this occur then green dotted food product became non Halal for Muslims. For example if a green dotted food product was made with Carrageenan, a Mushbooh ingredient and also it is a vegetarian food gum but ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol or Potassium Chloride is used to crystallized the Carrageenan during its processing.

If ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used then carrageenan became non Halal. If Potassium Chloride was used then it will become a Halal ingredient. The manufacturer of that product has informed the Muslim consumers that no animal derived ingredients were used as hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product. Always write to them whether alcohol was used in any flavor for both Green or Red Dot containing food Products or alcohol was used in food product or in food ingredients.

MCG has found during its investigation of Halal certification of dry beverage mixes that one of the dry ingredients mix was made by another company by using alcohol in flavor before spray drying the ingredients mix. There are some food products at supermarkets with Halal symbols but they're made with alcohol containing flavors or alcohol was used during processing.

Please investigate with Halal certifying organizations whether they Halal certify food products made with alcohol containing flavor or alcohol was used during processing. MCG Ulema said that when Halal ingredients touch the alcohol before manufacturing then those Halal ingredients will lose their Halal status. Evaporating or drying of alcohol during processing does not make the food products Halal.

There is no hadith which says that a certain amount or percentage of intoxicants is allowed in Halal foods. This very minute amount of naturally produced alcohol is acceptable in Islam. Man added alcohol in flavors or foods is not acceptable.

It is a fact that some flavor or food companies use alcohol as a solvent in liquid natural or artificial flavors before they spray dry the flavors or food products, or dry mixes.

Many cake mix companies such as Betty Crocker use dry flavor where alcohol was used before drying. Some food or flavor companies claim that there is no alcohol in the finished product because alcohol is dried out or evaporated during spray drying or processing.

There are some exceptions. This includes non dairy coffee creamer, dry seasoning mixes, cake mixes, other spray dried food products, or ingredients mixes. Carrageenan is a mushbooh gum obtained from seaweeds but during its production it is crystallized either by Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl Alcohol or Potassium Chloride KCl or none of all.

If Potassium Chloride KCL or Isopropyl alcohol is used but taken out completley or none of any thing was used during the processing of Carrageenan then it will be Halal. Only the manufacturer of Carrageenan know what they use to crystallized Carrageenan during its processing. So ask manufacturer of food product who used Carrageenan to find out from their Carrageenan supplier whether Ethyl Alcohol was used during the processing of Carrageenan.

Mon, Oct 21, at Reference - A To: It is always important to hear from our consumers, and we appreciate the time you have taken to contact us. These are excellent questions Jamil. Firstly, we do in fact have an animal ingredient within the Stearate of Magnesium Stearate. We hope this information helps. Again Jamil, thank you for your interest in our company.

Should you have any comments or questions in the future, please contact us via our website www. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday, 8: EST and will be happy to assist you. Consumer Care Center A. A Muslim consumer has provided the following e-mail to MCG indicating alcohol is used in all flavor so all Entenmann Bakery Products made with flavors are not Halal.

Assalamualaikum, I have contacted entenmanns company bimbo bakeries usa consumer inquiry line and asked them if alcohol is used in there products in general and he said if flavors are used then yes alcohol is used but it gets evaporated after cooking the product so there is almost none left. There are lot of items which are Halal only if no hidden ingredients are used. All ingredients used in the menu at Chipotle Restaurant are listed under Chain Restaurants subsection under Food Products section.

We remind Muslim consumers that they should be aware that Haram items are served at Chipotle Restaurants. So it is their responsibility to avoid cross contamination with Haram items. Please forward these requirements to the person who is a technical in charge of your cheese. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk.

Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves. Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases.

The best PDF tools. When and where you need them.